Liked: 101

Default Swift 016 vs Ralt rt41

Hi Folks, Need some input, I've been racing a Ralt rt 41 for the past six years , thinking off switching to a 016 (for vintage only)
    need some Pros and Cons.
    Thanks,
    Dee

Liked: 232

Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    Hi Folks, Need some input, I've been racing a Ralt rt 41 for the past six years , thinking off switching to a 016 (for vintage only)
    need some Pros and Cons.
    Thanks,
    Dee
    Out of curiosity, where would an 016 be vintage legal?

-Mark
    Mark Uhlmann
    Vancouver, Canada
    '12 Stohr WF1

Quote Originally Posted by lowside67 View Post
    out of curiosity, where would an 016 be vintage legal?

-mark
    svra

Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    svra
    Dee,
    10 years old...SVRA and HSR legal...

I raced a 41 before,I got my 16...

16....roomier....you can have a real good seat
    More head and neck protection
    Better Brakes
    Very heavy steering at upper speeds
    Not as nimble, but big downforce
    Better parts availability
    Stronger gearbox

41....not enough room for,a good seat
    Driver head and neck more exposed
    Nimble
    Less steering effort at speed
    Parts getting scarce
    Smaller wheels mean smaller brakes
    Careful with the gearbox

ymmv, but I would not go back to my 41

16 is safer, roomier, faster, better parts availability

Good luck,
    Bill

Thanks Bill You confirmed my thoughts
    DEE

Liked: 1403

I have been an engineer for teams running both cars.

From an engineer's perspective in trying to get a driver performing well and happy, the 41` was way better than an 016. The 016 reminded me of the 008 when I had both cars to engineer. In the team I worked for the 016 was referred to as Shamoo the whale.

Quote Originally Posted by S Lathrop View Post
    I have been an engineer for teams running both cars.