Contributing Member
    Liked: 109

Default 06 GSXR Clutch Replacement - Stohr

Howdy!

I think I blew the clutch on my Stohr yesterday. Works ok at low rpm but as soon as I jump car just revs up quickly. Happened very suddenly coming out of a corner. Gears still engage. When powered off in gear car doesn't move. Initally thought it was the diff that blew out but symptoms don't sound like it, and not sure what happens when you blow the diff, but first time I have had this issue.

I think I have to pull the engine based upon limited space. Any suggestions on the procedure and what to replace it with? This is my first try at this and I would prefer not to do it twice!

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thx
    Cj

ctjahn@courtneyjahn.com

Liked: 175

Quote Originally Posted by cjahn View Post
    Any suggestions on the procedure and what to replace it with? This is my first try at this and I would prefer not to do it twice!

Here is the K5-K6 service manual:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/x9697y...%2529.pdf/file
    Disassembly is at 3-18 to 3-21, inspection and service is at 3-44 to 3-47, and reassembly is at 3-93 to 3-98.

Nothing wrong with the stock clutch.
    Last edited by David Locke; 05.28.18 at 8:49 AM.

Liked: 133

I have replaced the GSXR clutch with the engine in the car on my AMAC. It was tight but doable. Even did it at the track once.

Just took a look at my 2006 WF1 with a GSXR in it. There appears to be enough room to get the clutch cover off and replace the clutch with the engine in place. It will be tight and the cover bolts will be difficult to get to. If you can get the cover off, there should be enough room to pull the clutch. I have not had to replace the clutch in my Stohr yet so you know what my advice is worth.

Another concept might be to drop the rear of the floor/diffuser. Not sure if that is easier than pulling the engine or not.