Liked: 3

Default CM Rules Question: Pertronix Ignitor III Distributor

Hello,

I am new to CMod and new to FF. I am looking at options to add a rev limiter to my Kent-engined Formula F.

I know there are several popular options from MSD, Pertronix, and Microdynamics.

Lots of people seem to be using Pertronix Flame Thrower Ignitor II distributors and Pertronix Rev Limiters. The Pertronix Ignitor III has the rev limiter built into the distributor. It also adds multiple spark discharge.

From the literature:
    Ignitor III Features:

• Multiple sparks thru the entire RPM range.
    • Integrated digital REV limiter with LED feedback for precise RPM setting.
    • Memory safe function stores settings eliminating unintended changes to Rev limit.
    • Adaptive dwell maintains peak energy throughout the entire RPM range, reducing misfires while improving engine performance.
    • Peak current level is reached just prior to spark for maximum energy without heat build-up, increasing coil performance and module reliability.
    • Adjusts spark timing at higher RPMs to compensate for the inherent electronic delay.
    • Senses startup and increases energy for quicker, easier starting.
    • Thermal clad surface mount construction for superior reliability.
    • Built-in reverse polarity and over current protection shuts down the system, preventing component damage.
    • Not compatible with CD or Multi-Spark boxes
    More details here: http://www.pertronix.com/catalogs/pd...me_thrower.pdf

FYI.. Here is the wording of 9.1.1.B.12.r from the 2016 GCR:
    Electrical Equipment
    Distributor: Distributors are unrestricted provided the original drive,
    location, and housing are retained. The distributor is defined as the
    component that triggers the LT current and distributes the HT current.
    The ignition timing may only be varied by vacuum and/or mechanical
    means. It is prohibited to use any other method or component to trigger,