Liked: 6

Default Data Aquisition in a CM FF

Noob alert! I'm new to FF and the CM class. I will be picking up a Zink Z10C to work on this winter. In looking at all the work I'll need to do, I started to think about installing a data acquisition unit. My question is, do you think it's worth the expense for a car that will only see autoX duty? It would be great to be able to analyze what is happening on the course, but by the time I'd be able to pour over the data the day would probably be over, and the course will never be the same. But that doesn't mean I couldn't learn from the data, right? I was looking at a kart system like Aim's MyCron 4 because of the low price point. Is there a problem using a kart system in a FF?

Thanks for your help!

Dustin

Liked: 0

Dustin,

Several years ago, I purchased a MaxQ Data System that worked really well with a co-driver. With a large enough run group, there was time to look at the data and determine who was faster, where. Many times we used the data after the event, but it was useful none the less.

However, since my co-driver moved away, I have found the MaxQ not very useful since there is no comparable. I can look at run-to-run comparisons, but that's not always useful since I don't know if my faster run is as fast as I can go or if a higher cornering force/exit speed/ exit is possible.

Now, I use a Hero Camera. When reviewing the run either during the event or after, I can determine if I'm close to the cones, initiating throttle when I think I should, review my lines, etc. It's a better tool (for me) because I can critique my runs without having a comparable.

Hope this helps,
    Mike

Liked: 77

I am really dont mean to push what I am selling but...

I am getting ready to put a full blown Motec ADL on the market. Shock sensors, mph, O2...massive memory upgrades, the whole deal. And I am thinking to list it for $3000.

I saw another really decked out Motec ADL recently for $5000 on this site.